whisk: salted caramel rice krispie treats

When I was in college, I had a boyfriend whose southern grandmother would glaze her Rice Krispie Treats.  At the time, they were the best Rice Krispie Treats I’d ever tasted.  Last night, that all changed.  I made Salted Caramel Rice Krispie Treats.  These decadent treats are unbelievable.   As I’ve proved earlier, salty sweet is my favorite.  In fact, I tend to lean more towards salty than sweet with my cravings.  So to me, the addition of creamy lightly salted caramel takes what is already a great dessert and makes it delicious.

Here’s what you’ll need:
+ 1/2 c. sugar
+ 6 T unsalted butter
+ 1/2 c. heavy cream
+ 3/4 tsp of Maldon
+ 1 bag of marshmallows
+ 6 cups rice cereal (rice chex or rice krispies)

Start by making the caramel sauce.  I made my favorite caramel sauce (previously seen in the crack brownies).   Place 1/2 c. of sugar in a dry skillet over medium heat.  Stir with a fork until the sugar starts melting.  Then stop stirring and start swirling the pan until the sugar is melted and has an amber color.  Add 2 T butter and stir until melted.  Remove from head and add the cream.  Stir until cream is blended.  Pour into a bowl and set aside to let cool to room temperature.

In a large sauce pot, melt the butter of medium low heat.  Add the entire bag of marshmallows and stir until melted.  Pour the cereal into a separate bowl and add the melted marshmallows.  Stir until combined.  Then stir about 1 tsp of salt into the caramel and stir into the cereal mix until combined.

Press into a buttered and/or lined pan, cover and let set for a few hours.  Remove from pan, cut, serve and stand back.

xoxo

Katie

Leave a Reply

