measure twice, cut once.

This old sewing adage finds it way into my life more often than I care to admit.  I have a running joke with my friends that it usually takes me two times to get something right the first time.  My sewing, crafting and baking adventures tend to fall into the trial and error category.   I feel like I’ve made so many mistakes, that I should be used to it by now, expect that I will make them but instead, I feel like I should be mistake free.  Unfortunately, that’s not the case.

Last night was no exception, I sat down to sew a pillow cover using the zigzag/chevron fabric we showed you how to make last week, it was like a British farce.  Everything that could go wrong did.  I only had 18 inches of fabric left for the back, which needed to be 20 inches.  I sewed the zipper in wrong.  ON BOTH SIDES.   I decided to sew together fabric pieces to make the back.  Cut sewed and after I finally got the zipper in, realized that I had cut it two inches short.  At that point, I had to just walk away.

Sometimes you have to just let go, pick yourself up and try again tomorrow.  Because the thing is, everyone makes mistakes.  Everyone.  Martha, Julia, Nigella, everyone.  Mistakes Happen.  Shit Happens.  We are all just trying to get it right.

So while I know I’m supposed to always make sure to measure twice, so that i cut only once, it doesn’t always happen.  But tomorrow, I will try again.


One thought on “measure twice, cut once.

Leave a Reply

