make: framed chalkboard art

For the last few weeks, I’ve been playing with a few different DIY artwork techniques.  Until now, they’ve all been pretty disastrous.  I’ve used water colors and puffy paints; tried words and patterns but nothing really worked.  So, I turned to an old favorite.  Chalkboard paint.  Maybe its the repressed teacher in me, but I have always loved writing on chalkboards.  Plus I am amazed that you can buy paint that will turn any surface into a chalkbaord.  Sidenote, did you know that you can also buy magnet and whiteboard paint.  Those folks over at Rust-oleom are geniuses!

So, this easy project only took about 30 minutes of real work time (25 hours total with drying time).  Plus since I tend to constantly move art around my house, I love that I can pop that bad boy out of the frame and change the quote whenever I feel like it.   Ah chalkboard, you are my favorite!

Here’s what you’ll need:
+ 1 piece of poster board (larger than the frame/matte)
+ painters tape
+ pencil
+ ruler
+ chalkboard paint (I used rust-oleom spray paint in black)
+ chalk

With a pencil and ruler, draw an outline of the shape of your chalkboard.  Then using painter tape (or masking tape) outline the shape.

Follow the instructions on the paint can for application.  If you are using spray paint, be sure to work in a well ventilated area.  I got a little bit of a headache from this project (even though I was only applying the paint to a 12 inch x 12 inch square.)   Spray in even sweeping motions from side to side.  Allow first coat to dry for 1 hour and then apply a second coat.

Once you have finished applying the second coat, carefully remove the painters tape. Allow to dry for at least 24 hours.  Then to finish the paint, take a piece of chalk rub the side on the chalkboard surface.  Erase and you are ready to go.

Start drawing or writing.  I came across this quote recently and knew I had to put it somewhere in my house to remind me to stop comparing myself to others.

I’m think I’ll make a few more of these and put them in frames around the house.   What’s your favorite use for chalkboard paint?

xoxo,

Katie

Leave a Reply

