whisk: garbage cookies

I love cookies and this time of year it seems like everyone is making a batch to share with friends at holiday parties.   My mom and I are planning to make Krumkake this weekend and I’m considering trying to make some of these as well.

In the meantime, I have a friend in town who requested that I make something for her.  Deep in the throws of the holiday party season, I needed something impressive but quick and easy — so I went with my tried and true garbage cookies.  These are a hybrid of Martha’s Kitchen Sink Cookie and the Compost Cookie at Momofuku.  Both are great recipes on their own but I brought them together to make what is (in my humble opinion) the best everyday cookie. The mix-ins for these can be anything and a lot of times depends on what’s in my kitchen cabinet.  I’ve used everything from goldfish crackers to reese pieces, get creative here and use what you like.  I’m currently obsessed with a childhood favorite, Rolos.  They are great for baking because they give you caramel and chocolate.  I really wish that Hershey’s made them in a mini size!  The trick to cutting them is to freeze them first, that way they don’t become a big caramel mess.

Here are the details:

Garbage Cookies

1 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

2 sticks butter (room temperature)

3/4 c. light brown sugar

3/4 c. sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. dried cherries

1 roll of rolos (chopped into chunks)

1/2 c. chocolate chips

1/2 c. toffee chips

1/2 c. potato chips (crushed into chunks)

Preheat oven to 350 and line sheet pans with either with parchment or a silicon liners such as sil-pat.  In a medium bowl, sift together flour and baking soad.  Set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugars.  Mix on high for 2-3 minutes until the butter is fluffy.   Reduce speed to low and add in the egg, mix until combined.  Then add in the vanilla.  Mix until combined.  Then on low speed, begin adding the flour approximately a handful/half cup at a time.  Mix until combine and repeat.  Once the flour is fully mixed in, start adding the remaining ingredients.  The trick here is to mix it just enough so that each cookie will have some of each flavor but too so much that the various mixed in items start to dissolve into the dough (potato chips are the worst for this).  I tend to add the potato chips at the very end and mix only a few times so this doesn’t happen.

Then using a cookie scoop or two tablespoons, drop the cookies on the cookie sheets 2 inches apart from each other and bake for 14-16 minutes until the cookies are golden brown.  Remove from oven and place on a rack to cool.

This recipe makes about 4 dozen cookies (depending on the size of cookie).

Next time I make these, I want to use Chex Mix… any other great ideas?  Maybe Captain Crunch?

2 thoughts on “whisk: garbage cookies

Leave a Reply

